Listen to King Reign’s brand new mixtape with DJ Grouch

August 25, 2014

King Reign is beloved in Toronto hip-hop circles for one primary reason: He’s a remarkable, often cinematic, storyteller. Using smooth-as-heck baritone as his primary weapon, Reign is a visual wordsmith who speaks in technicolour, which he perfected on this summer’s Sincere LP. (You may also remember his collaboration on Drake’s incredible¬†“Fades Away.”) And there’s no better an introduction into the rising Hogtown MC’s world than The King Reign Mixdown, a seamless blend of classic and new tracks, all distilled down into an essential mixtape by DJ Grouch.

As the second release from the Scion Sessions Mixtape Series, the mix comes in two formats: A Soundcloud stream, which you can listen to below, and via an old-fashioned cassette. The latter is available via an exclusive performance on September 4 at Toronto venue Tattoo, which’ll pair King Reign and opener The Doppelgangaz with legendary New York hip-hope troupe eMC.

Check the event page for full details. Here’s the full tracklist from the King Reign Mixdown.

1. Happylaidback *
2. This Means War
3. Soarin To Heaven
4. Happy Endings
5. I Rap *
6. Killer *
7. Looking For Love
8. Oh No *
9. The Audacity of Hope
10. Represent
11. Money ft. Saukrates
12. Pretty Girl Lost ft. Leila Dey *
13. One More Time ft. Pharoahe Monch
14. Guilty Party ft. Saukrates
15. Don’t Fall In Love ft. Noel Gourdin *
16. Chemical Romance *
17. Promo *
18. Shining (Exclusive)
19. Sincere (Without You Rem

* Tracks from Sincere

Exclusive videos, interviews, contests & more.

sign up for the a.side newsletter

sign up